Getting Hit On? ((Maybe?))

It was a weird feeling. I sprained my ankle a few days ago. So while I was limping to the bike parking lot. Along comes this nice, tall and cute Japanese guy. He asked me what was wrong so I pointed to my ankle. He offered me a lift even though he didn’t know where I was headed to. I said I’m ok, “daijoubu”, a few times but he didn’t budge, so I took him up on his offer since I could actually see the parking lot in site, I had a backpack that weighed a ton and my legs were killing me from limping the entire day (well….~2.5 hours to be exact). He kept talking to me in Japanese even though I told him I didn’t understand Japanese, “nihonga ga wakarimasen”.

Honestly, at first I thought he was just being a nice Japanese person… I mean, just the other day, this Japanese lady asked whether I was okay and offered something in Japanese, but my Japanese is so shitty, I just kept saying, “daijoubou. daijoubou. arigatougozaimasu.”

It wasn’t until he dropped me off at the parking lot and seemed like he wanted to continue to chat with me even though I didn’t really understand Japanese, along with a few other hints (?) did I go “oh….maybe, he’s hitting on me?”

From the tidbits I picked up, he asked me whether I was Chinese, where was I from, whether I was married (danna sama) or had a boyfriend (kareshi).

It was when he asked whether I had a “boyfriend” in English, I thought to myself…okay “gotta go”. We can’t really converse when the only English word he knows in English is “boyfriend”. So I went like “arigatougozaimasu” bowed, and left.

I still don’t know whether I was being hit on or not. Maybe I should have stayed a bit longer and tried to chat, but I was so tired. Regardless, the event left a pretty good feeling.

Too bad he doesn’t speak English, Chinese or a bit of French.

IF he wasn’t hitting on me…YaY to good Samaritans in Japan.

IF he was…wow. So Japanese people aren’t actually all that shy. Japanese Stereotype immediately refuted.

This entry was posted in Japan, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

